Interferons (IFNs) are a group of signalling proteins that are produced and released from cells in response to viral infection and other stimuli such as normal and tumour cell survival and death. IFNs interact with specific cellular receptors, thereby promoting production of secondary messengers which leads to the expression of antiviral and immune modulatory genes. There are three groups of IFNs, Type I IFNs, Type II IFNs and Type III IFNs. Type I IFNs include IFN-alpha, -beta, -omega, -kappa and IFN-zeta. These are essential for regulating the immune response to viral infections. The Type II IFN group only includes IFN-gamma. IFN-gamma is a versatile cytokine that plays an essential role in halting proliferation of cells, immunoregulation and its pro-inflammatory effects for various aspects of the immune response. The Type III IFN family includes IFN-lambda 1/IL-29, IFN-lambda 2/IL-28A, IFN-lambda 3/IL-28B and IFN-lambda-4. Type III IFNs have similar properties to Type I IFNs. ELISA Genie provide an extensive range of ELISA kits for research on the Interferon family.

Interferon Family Receptors

Interferon Family Regulators

Interferon Family Signalling Molecules

Interferons Type I

Interferons Type II

Interferons Type III

6th Mar 2021 BigCommerce

Recent Posts